Sometimes a Schoolrunner user may attempt to use different functionalities on the site and discover that they are unable to do so. This is the result of which user groups they are/aren't in. By default, new users have access only to the schools they were created in/assigned to, and no one has access to restricted information or functions until they are added to a user group that contains the appropriate permissions. 


In other words, users can then be added to a user group, which determines what kind of access the user will have to different parts of the site. (Read more on the connection between staff members and users here.) 


When first creating users, whether individually or in bulk, the option is available to assign the new user/s to specific groups. Read more on that here. During the user creation process, it is also possible to assign the new user single- or multi-school permissions.



(Please note that the school you are logged into while creating new users will automatically be assigned to all of the new users, along with any other school you assign them to manually. So if you are logged into Hogwarts and want a new user to have access only to East, then you should switch your school to East, and create that user or user group from there.) 


You can create and edit user groups as you like, changing not only their names and permissions, but also the users comprising the group. Say you want to create a group for administrators who are to be given access to all schools within your Schoolrunner network. Navigate to the Edit Users page and click on the Add Group button at top right.



From here you can name your group, assign staff members to it, and choose your permissions. Permissions can range in scope from school-wide to site-wide. For more on permissions and a short demonstration video on creating a group and assigning permissions, take a look at this article.


As always, don't forget to save your changes! Once you've saved your group, you'll be returned to the Edit Users page, and you should see your new group.



If at any time you wish to change permissions for the group, or add or remove members to/from it, choose from the icons listed next to the group: the pencil allows you to edit, the double sheets of paper will duplicate it, and the checkmark will deactivate it. 


If you would like to view deactivated groups at any time, simply click on the Show Inactive button at top right. This will include all deactivated groups in your list, which are easily identified due to their grey italicized type: